Cambridge Blue, Gwydir Street
Real ale Pub: Free House
Good Beer Guide 2005
Showcasing seven beers at any one time from local breweries such as
Milton and City of Cambridge,
East Anglian brewers such as Elgoods and Iceni,
plus old favourites such as Adnams Broadside and Woodfordes Wherry.
Cassels cider (mainly in the summer).
The whole pub (indoors) is no-smoking.
Children's Licence for the conservatory & large garden till 9pm
- children welcome all year round.
"The Cambridge Blue" has repeatedly proved to be sufficient as the entire
address for post from abroad!
The left-hand half (no. 87) was purpose-built in the 1860s
as a pub, as part of the estate of railway workers' terraced houses, one of many pubs along the street.
Later (by 1903) the pub was enlarged by knocking through to no. 85.
- The pub was known as The Dewdrop Inn till 1985,
when Chris and Debbie Lloyd (tenants at the The Free Press 1978-2000)
bought it from Tolly Cobbold and refurbished it.
They stocked Tolly beers (including "House" at 68p/pint, later 74p) and from about 1986 Nethergate.
- Between 1988 and 1991 it was leased to B&T (Shefford) and then to Nethergate (Clare) till 1999.
- Nick & Mandy Winnington ran it between 1989 and 1999, until the end of the lease.
| Ian's home page